caitri: (Default)
 This discussion is going to include spoilers for Netflix's adaptation of The Witcher as well as Sapkowski's novels. Read at your own risk.

*
*
*
*
*

Read more... )
caitri: (Default)
 But it will be the last season!!! 

I am conflicted. On the one hand: I appreciate that the extra seasons are a gift to fans, but on the other, they could easily do seven seasons. EASILY. Losing yet another one of my shows just bugs me.
caitri: (Books)
(such as it was)

I've meant to write this all week, but I've been tired/ busy. So it's not a full meta.

I think I'm one of the few people who was okay with the ending. (NB That said I don't think that's the ending we'll get in the books, assuming we ever do get said books.) I admire the literary symmetry of it, and the homage to The Scouring of the Shire.

It didn't match up with my headcanons, which I consider superior, but I would, because I am a fangirl, but that's another thing. And also what fic is for. 

And now to be overly honest, and kind of a dick:

The best part of GoT being over is all the people who have never read a goddamn bit of genre in their lives will go. the fuck. away. and stop giving their hot takes on genre elevation/transcendence/whatever. Is GRRM a good writer? Yes. Do I enjoy his books? Sometimes more than others (the problematic sex needs to fucking stop, jesus). Is GoT/ASoIaF superior to all other fantasy novels? NOPE NOPE NOPE. Does gritty make genre better? Not necessarily.

So fuckin' tired of those arguments from the past 8 years, jfc. /rant
caitri: by blue_hobbit (Don't Go Where I Can't Follow)
Because I am tired and tomorrow will be a Very Long Day Indeed.

This weekend I binge-watched Lucifer S4. I struggled a bit at first with the way one of the main characters was OOC, but I thought it was usefully explained towards the end. Compressed to ten episodes and now on Netflix rather than Fox, the CGI was upped, the adult content a little more so (we got to see Luci's butt, and even better, Ella's), but the pacing felt rushed, despite the ten eps taking place within a time frame of eight months or so. All that said, I still adore everyone in that bar, and earnestly hope it is renewed for S5.

Meanwhile I have been enjoying Game of Thrones this season, and look forward to the grand finale this weekend. I know a lot of people have been disappointed by decisions, which I get--I'm less than thrilled by some of them too--but I'm also like, Were we not here for the plot twists rather than the characters anyway? I mean really.

Also, check out this twitter thread  on GoT by one of the SPN writers, notes that "what a show like Supernatural promises its audience in completion is so different than what a show like GoT owes" and "For one thing, SPN believes in heroism--GoT never really has. For another, for all its worldbuilding, SPN is a show about core characters; GoT is about a world. Both shows foster strong emotional identification with their characters--but on SPN that is the whole point; on GoT it is more of a byproduct/enticement for a larger point/story." To me this bodes Really Well for whatever SPN's epic finale is next year. 

caitri: (Default)
 Spoiler free:

A part of me always thought it would end something like this--it explains everything including how DIS is not itself a retcon.

I also like the symmetry of how the season ends as it began, without a white dude on the bridge. Also I really, REALLY like how the women are the ones fixing problems, being heroic, being hilarious, and getting the job done.

Also also: Spock without a beard is....not hot.

Anyway, it will be a long year til the next season. Woof.
caitri: (Default)
 I fell out of doing immediate episode reactions because of the move and trying to finish my notes on Supernatural. I'm really enjoying this season of DIS and so delighted that they are going all the places it is logical to go (HUGH!!!!!!!!!) as well as places I wouldn't suspect (Tilly and May in the mycelial network). 

They brought Ash/Voq back much more quickly than I would have expected, and good goddamn, they prettied him up. 




Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey.

Ahem. I'm also glad to see the Empress getting some quality time too, to say nothing of her IMMINENT SPIN-OFF!!!!! **shriek**

I also really, REALLY love Captain Pike. I wasn't enthused about concluding the epic changeover at the end of S1 that left us with an entire bridge crew of women and POC by reintroducing a white dude Captain, but...he's such a good guy, it's hard to resent him beyond the optics. He makes clear his respect for every member of the crew and immediately trusts Michael--which is also great given how she had to overcome so much crap in S1.

The faith/belief/science arc is fascinating, especially as watched against Supernatural (I keep imagining what a crossover between the two would like and what Cas would make of "the red angel.") and I can't wait to find out where they are going with it...
caitri: (Default)
 Read more... )


caitri: (This is Your Captain)
The new episode made me cry twice tonight. It hit me right in the feels. Reaction with spoilers:

Read more... )
caitri: (World Is a Mess)
 It took two months to get through 13 episodes. A lot of the writing is repetitive and sloppy, like they knew they didn't have enough actual plot and so decided to make up for it with lots of characters repeating conversations to other characters, or having flashbacks to scenes we already knew about. That said, the final two episodes did a lot of work and were well done, esp. in terms of what they did for various characters. Some cinematographic shots were straight up fucking incredible.

What particularly struck me as the season wore on though is how I became much more invested in minor characters. The relationship between Shades and Comanche was really interesting and had a lot of reverberations throughout the season. (I'm tempted to go look for fic.) D.W. spends an inordinate amount of time being comic relief and then speaks literal truth to power at the end. 

I'm more frustrated in what we didn't get with Luke though. Like, every character is bent on telling him who he is--or isn't--and by the time he "decides" in the final minutes it isn't altogether convincing. The scenes that felt most like development doubled as appreciation for the NYC skyline; in ep 8 (?) Iron Fist visits and takes him by Columbia to see the city from above to see the bigger picture, so Luke starts periodically going back there to think. It's pretty but it didn't quite work with the rest of the writing.

...That said, Luke's real superpower is making me not want to punch Danny Rand on sight. This is no mean feat.

Anyways, they left things in a really interesting place, and I hope S3 pays off on that. 
caitri: (bullshit)
Way to close out the season's arc without giving much in the way of narrative closure. *sigh* I mean, it could have been worse, but...

I'm half thinking about attempting a fic, just because.
caitri: (bullshit)
I am sulking. It's extra frustrating because the second half of this season has been SO GOOD.

And apparently there's 2 eps they filmed for S3 but put aside for S4...I wonder if they'll air those.

SIGH.

Made more annoying because there's basically only a tiny handful of American tv programs I watch anymore and that was one. (Others being Supernatural and Legends of Tomorrow for weeklies, and then the irregular shows like Into the Badlands, Outlander, and the Netflix Marvel series.) Like, WELP, this is why I watch Korean and Chinese tv, I guess.
caitri: (Default)
...and at the end Scott yelled "DEUS EX MACHINAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!"

And I am still giggling hours later.
caitri: (Status Not Quo)
 Spoilers for the whole show; discussion under the cut.

TL:DR It is messy and interesting.

Read more... )
caitri: (Default)
1) I was fretting all day about this episode, wondering how they could possibly tie up everything in an hour. AND THEY DID.

2) Two inspirational speeches, and both made me cry.

2a) It hit me in the feels that during one of the speeches they panned to each person on the bridge: one white woman, two aliens, and everyone else was a POC. Just. MOAR TEARS.

SPOILERS )
caitri: (Default)
This show made me cry TWICE tonight. I just love it so much and am so sad there's only one episode left.

Also actual dialogue from tonight, at the scene in the mess hall:
Me: *tears*
Scott: "OH MY GOD This is why Starfleet will never win!!!!!"

Also also, is it terrible that I'm starting to get the same feeling about Black Panther criticism as I am about Discovery criticism? Like, "you say you hate x, but I'm pretty sure it's really about the racism." *wants to be wrong* *honestly doubts it though, sadly*

Anyway, was texting beforehand with a friend who loves the show as much as I do, when I came to the conclusion that in a couple years I NEED to do an edited collection of academic essays on the show, because I Am That Kind of Nerd. I just need to finish, like, a ton of other things first...
caitri: (Default)
 Everything has to be under a cut for spoilers.

Read more... )
caitri: (Default)
1) I'd actually heard That Plot Twist was a theory about Lorca and had dismissed it as crazy talk. WOW.

2) Paul/Hugh - my heart hurts even more now.

3) Emperor Phillipa is so bamf.

Annnnnnnd we only have three episodes left. *flail* I have no idea how they are going to resolve all this. Wow.
caitri: (Status Not Quo)
1) Was not expecting that reveal so soon.

2) Are security feeds from sickbay not a thing? Because that is DUMB.

3) OMG I need Mirror!Georgiou/Michael NOW. GIMME, AO3!!!
caitri: by blue_hobbit (Don't Go Where I Can't Follow)
Mirrorverse, yo.

A bunch of thoughts and observations, not least that Scott thinks the whole second half of the series might be in the Mirrorverse. Which, whoa.

Okay, in no particular order:

1) I genuinely think, and after actually watching After Trek am convinced, that they are gonna end up finding Mirror!Culber and bringing him aboard.

1a) But holy crap with That Scene though.

2) I love Capt. "Killey."

3) I also love the sensible Mirrorverse armor for both sexes. The midriff-baring sexdoll outfits for the women throughout the franchise annoyed the hell out of me.

4) Pretty sure Tyler-is-Voq and that the only reason they don't talk about it on After Trek is because it's accurate (Good job, internet).

5) I love the drop-in of the USS Defiant from the primary 'verse as that's a callback to the ENT "Through a Mirror, Darkly" eps.

6) Lorca's "engineer" accent is MVP.

*flail* Is it next week yet??
caitri: (This is Your Captain)
1) I hate that this cliffie is all we have until January.

2) I think not where, but when.

3) Right now I want nothing more than a cameo of Avery Brooks as Ben Sisko.

~

Bonus: Outlander "Doldrums"

Thank the GODS the writers continue to improve on the Willoughby storyline. I thought his entire speech/performance was well done both in terms of the actor's performance and for the character. Also, I approve of how Claire continues to call him Yi Tien Cho, because respecting names is fucking important.

Profile

caitri: (Default)
caitri

January 2026

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 01:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios